Mass Limits for Heavy Vehicles

There are three tiers of mass limits for heavy vehicles in NSW. These are:

General Mass Limits (GML)

General access vehicles are those with unrestricted access to the road system. Provided these vehicles are registered and operators pay the registration charge appropriate to the vehicle configuration, no specific access restrictions apply and no additional permits are required.

The Heavy Vehicle Mass, Loading and Access brochure clearly defines the parameters for general access vehicles and the mass limits that apply to these standard vehicles. Further information is also provided on restricted access vehicles including a brief overview of special purpose vehicles.

Concessional Mass Limits (CML)

Concessional Mass Limits (CML) allows increased mass limits for eligible vehicles. To be eligible for CML, a vehicle must be accredited under the National Heavy Vehicle Accreditation Scheme (NHVAS) Mass Management Module.

CML allows eligible vehicles to operate at increased mass limits compared to statutory limits. Gross vehicle mass limits for vehicles eligible to operate under CML are set at 5% above existing General Mass Limits (GML), subject to:

  • A maximum 1 tonne for a vehicle or vehicle combination with an allowable gross mass not exceeding 55 tonnes.
  • A maximum of 2 tonnes for vehicle combinations with an allowable gross mass exceeding 55 tonnes.

See the CML fact sheet for further information.

Higher Mass Limits (HML)

Higher Mass Limits (HML) represents the highest level of mass able to be carried on NSW roads (other than by other permit, notice or other exemption).

HML access can be obtained in New South Wales by enrolling under the Intelligent Access Program, which introduces GPS based tracking technology to manage access and compliance.

Roads and Maritime Services HML website provides a wealth of information including what types of vehicles can operate at HML, requirements for HML access, how to enrol in the IAP, route confirmation services and what restrictions apply. A HML fact sheet, as well as the HML network map are also available on the website.

Common Mass Limits

Information on axle groups for the three categories of mass – GML, CML and HML are shown in the table below:

Axle/axle group/gross GML CML HML
Single Steer * 6.0t 6.0t 6.0t
Twin Steer (Non Load-Sharing) 10.0t 10.0t 10.0t
Twin Steer (Load Sharing) 11.0t 11.0t 11.0t
Single Axle – Dual Tyres 9.0t 9.0t 9.0t
Tandem Axle – Dual Tyres 16.5t 17.0t 17.0t
Tri-axle – Dual Tyres 20.0t 21.0t 22.5t
Pig trailer tandem axle 15.0t 15.0t 15.0t
Pig trailer tri axle 18.0t 18.0t 18.0t
19 metre semi trailer – 6 axle 42.5t 43.5t 45.5t
25/6 metre B-double – 9 axle 62.5t 64.5t 68t
Double road train – 11 axle 79t 81t 85t
Rigid 3 axle with dual tyres 22.5t 23.0t 23.0t

* Vehicles that comply with Front Under-run Protection Systems (FUPS) requirements, cabin strength requirements, and the Australian Design Rule (ADR) 80/01 are permitted an additional 500kg on a single steer axle and the gross mass limit.