Approved motorcycles for novice riders

The Learner Approved Motorcycle (LAM) scheme for novice riders commenced on 6 September 2002. The scheme has progressively been extended and now applies to provisional P1 and P2 riders.

The LAM scheme allows novice riders to ride moderately powered motorcycles. These motorcycles must be:

  • listed in the publication known as ‘Approved Motorcycles for Novice Riders’ published on Roads and Maritime Services website and,
  • have an engine capacity up to and including 660ml and do not exceed a power to weight ratio of 150 kilowatts per tonne.

The publication is updated as new models are approved. It lists the makes and models of all motorcycles that can be ridden by learner and provisional riders. You can view or download the current list by clicking the link below.

Motorcycle power and weight is based on manufacture data supplied for (ADR) compliance. Motorcycles can not be modified or restricted in order to be reclassified as learner approved.


All motorcycle up to 660ml built before December 1960 are approved.

All motorcycles and scooters with electric powered engines are approved.

All motorcycles with an engine capacity under 260ml are approved with the exception of:

Suzuki - RGV250
Kawasaki - KR250 (KR-1 and KR1s models)
Honda - NSR250
Yamaha - TZR250
Aprila - RS250

In 2009, a national standard for ‘Approved Motorcycles for Novice Riders’ was introduced. Accordingly, all states with LAM schemes are currently aligning their lists of approved motorcycle. Transitional arrangements may apply in some jurisdictions while lists are being aligned.

Kawasaki GPZ500 (EX500) and Z650 are Approved Motorcycles for Novice Riders’ in NSW if the rider was the registered operator prior to 1 April 2010 .


It is your responsibility to make sure that you are riding an approved motorcycle. If you are a learner or provisional rider you must not ride a motorcycle that is not shown on this list.