Hume Highway Duplication, Southern Town Bypasses

Completed: August 2013

Completion of the Tarcutta and Woomargama bypasses and opening of the Holbrook bypass in August 2013 completed the 808km Hume Highway duplication. After almost five decades of work the Hume Highway is transformed from an unsafe single carriageway into a modern four lane dual carriageway linking Sydney and Melbourne.

The selection of the bypass routes at each town was the result of extensive environmental investigations, consideration of community feedback and consultation with the local councils.

Each bypass demonstrates well integrated engineering and urban design principles leading to a context sensitive result, continuing the design quality exemplified by the recently completed projects south of Wagga Wagga.

This included several bridges over local creeks and flood zones, well graded cuttings and new highway formations blending in with the local landform.

The design of major interchanges and intersections at either end of the bypasses considered the driving experience as well as the important issue of town access to support the local community and economy. Signature elements such as town markers, signage and feature landscape design have emphasised the presence of the towns.

The three bypass projects were part of the Hume Highway duplication program, funded by the Australian Government.

  • Tarcutta: opened to traffic in November 2011, is around 7km long, constructed to the west of the town
  • Woomargama: opened to traffic in November 2011, is around 9km long and constructed to the west of the village
  • Holbrook: opened to traffic in August 2013, is around 9.5km long, built to the west of Holbrook.
Share this page: