Double demerit periods

Double demerit points apply for speeding, seatbelt, motorcycle helmet and mobile phone offences during all holiday periods such as long weekends, Christmas, New Year and Easter.

2019 double demerit periods

The double demerit points period applies from midnight of the start date to midnight on the finish date.

Public Holiday Gazetted Public Holiday Double demerit point period School days in the double demerit point period
Australia Day Monday 28 January Friday 25 to Monday 28 January inclusive Nil
Easter Friday 19 April
Saturday 20 April
Sunday 21 April
Monday 22 April
Thursday 18 April to Monday 22 April inclusive Nil
Anzac Day Thusday 25 April Wednesday 24 to Sunday 28 April inclusive N/A
Queen's Birthday Monday 10 June Friday 7 June to Monday 10 June inclusive Friday 7 June 2019
Labour Day Monday 7 October Friday 4 October to Monday 7 October inclusive Nil
Christmas and Boxing Day Wednesday 25 December
Thursday 26 December
Friday 20 December 2019 to Wednesday 1January 2020 inclusive Friday 20 December 2019
New Years Day 2020 Wednesday 1 January Included in the Christmas period above Nil
Share this page: