Double demerit periods

Double demerit points apply for speeding, seatbelt, motorcycle helmet and mobile phone offences during all holiday periods such as long weekends, Christmas, New Year and Easter.

2017 double demerit periods

The double demerit points period applies from midnight of the start date to midnight on the finish date.

Public Holiday Gazetted Public Holiday Double demerit point period School days in the double demerit point period
Australia Day Thursday 26 January Midnight Tuesday 24 January to midnight Sunday 29 January (or Wednesday 25-Sunday 29 January inclusive) Friday 27 January
Easter Friday 14 April
Saturday 15 April
Sunday 16 April
Monday 17 April
Midnight Wednesday 12 April to midnight Monday 17 April (or Thursday 13 to Monday 17 April inclusive) Nil
Anzac Day Tuesday 25 April Midnight Thursday 20 April to midnight Tuesday 25 April (or Friday 21 to Tuesday 25 April inclusive) Monday 24 April 2017
Queen's Birthday Monday 12 June Midnight Thursday 8 June to midnight Monday 12 June (or Friday 9 to Monday 12 June inclusive) Friday 9 June
Labour Day Monday 2 October Midnight Thursday 28 September to midnight Monday 2 October (or Friday 29 Sept to Monday 2 October inclusive) Nil
Christmas and Boxing Day Monday 25 December
Tuesday 26 December
Midnight Thursday 21 December to midnight Monday 1 January (or Friday 22 December 2017 to Monday 1 January 2018 inclusive) Nil
New Years Day 2018 Monday 1 January Included in the Christmas period above. Nil
Share this page: