Central Coast

Covering an area of about 1,700 square kilometres, the Central Coast stretches along the coast 81 kilometres from the Hawkesbury River in the south to Lake Macquarie in the north, and west to the Dooralong and Yarramalong Valleys.

Aerial view of the Central Coast Highway

About the region

The Central Coast is located between Sydney and Newcastle and includes the main centres of Gosford, Tuggerah-Wyong, Woy Woy, Erina, The Entrance and Toukley.

More than half the region is made up of national parks, bushland, open space, conservation areas and waterways. Water is integral to the history and development of the region – with major waterways include Brisbane Water, Tuggerah Lake, and the Hawkesbury and Wyong rivers. These vast waterways make the Central Coast vulnerable to rising sea levels associated with climate change.

Major highways and roads in Central Coast region

Major links include:

  • M1 Pacific Motorway, connecting Sydney to Newcastle
  • Central Coast Highway
  • Pacific Highway
  • Avoca Drive
  • Terrigal Drive
  • Wyong Road
  • Sparks Road
  • Brisbane Water Drive
  • Manns Road.

The M1 Pacific Motorway is a vital link for about 70,000 light vehicle trips and 6,000 freight trips each day between Sydney and the Central Coast. Light vehicle numbers reduce to about 40,000 north towards the Hunter Valley.

Share this page: