South Eastern NSW

The South Eastern region stretches from Gerringong to the Victorian border and west to the Snowy Mountains.

Snowy Mountains Highway.
Snowy Mountains Highway.

Roads and Maritime Services Southern Region covers approximately seven per cent of NSW, extending from the Wollongong Local Government Area in the north, to the Upper Lachlan local government area and the ACT border in the west, and to the Victorian border in the south (including the Snowy Mountains). Some 95 per cent of the region is classified as rural.

The topography of the region is diverse ranging from the eastern highlands of the Great Dividing Range, including the Illawarra Escarpment in the north, and Mt Kosciusko and the snow fields in the south west, and a beautiful coastline that includes many areas covered in rainforest.

The economy of the region is centred on tourism and primary production including coal and agriculture.

The region's road network serves the movement of these products to export terminals and caters to a wide range of freight and passenger-car trips.

Southern Region manages:

  • 2361 kilometres of State Roads and National Highways
  • Funding for maintenance and rehabilitation works carried out by councils on 1959 kilometres of regional roads
  • 793 bridges
  • 236 sets of traffic signals.
Share this page: