Approved motorcycles for novice riders

Learner, provisional P1 and P2 rider licence holders (‘novice riders’), are restricted from riding more highly-powered motorcycles under a nationally-agreed standard.

The Learner Approved Motorcycle scheme (LAM) allows novice riders to ride only lower and moderately powered motorcycles.

Approved motorcycles

In order to be approved for L, P1 and P2 riders, motorcycles must:

  • Be listed in the publication Approved Motorcycles for Novice Riders. This publication is updated as new models are approved, and lists the makes and models of motorcycles that can be ridden by novice riders.
  • Have an engine capacity up to and including 660ml, and not exceed a power-to-weight ratio of 150 kw per tonne

This includes:

  • All motorcycles up to 660ml built before 1960
  • All motorcycles and scooters with electric powered engines that have a power output not in excess of 25kw
  • All motorcycles with an engine capacity under 260ml except:
    • Suzuki – RGV250
    • Kawasaki – KR250 (KR-1 and KR1s models)
    • Honda – NSR250
    • Yamaha – TZR250
    • Aprila – RS250f
  • Kawasaki GPZ500 (EX500) and Z650, provided the rider was the registered operator of the motorcycle before 1 April 2010.

Motorcycle power and weight is based on manufacturer data supplied for Australian Design Rules compliance. Motorcycles cannot be modified or restricted in order to be reclassified as approved motorcycles.

Modifications to novice approved motorcycles

For a motorcycle to remain approved for use by novice riders it must not be modified in any way from its manufacturer’s standard specifications.

Only motorcycles that retain all of the manufacturer’s original equipment for that model and model variant will retain novice rider status under the Learner Approved Motorcycle scheme (LAM).

Related sections

Share this page: